Gujarat

by wechslerh66

I am Srikanth Srikantha
& I work for InfoTech
I drive a black Elantra
& my dreams are just a wreck

I was born outside Ahmedabad
now Red Deer is my home
two hours north of Edmonton
& two weeks west of Goa

& when I’m bored I’m really bored
I miss my Tata tea
I wish I were in Gujarat
the West is not for me

I miss you too Manjeera
without you here I’m blue
where it’s permanently winter
out on Jasper Avenue

& it’s TV night in Canada
Leafs-Flames on every screen
it’s Diwali back in Gujarat
but here it’s Halloween

& when I’m bored I’m really bored
I miss my Tata tea
I wish I were in Gujarat
the West is not for me

when rednecks hear I’m Indian
they often think of Tonto
it’s lonely since Tirumalesh
was transferred to Toronto

so now I drink my wobbly pop
& watch my CFL
have mercy on me, Shiva
please rescue me from Hell

& when I’m bored I’m really bored
I miss my Tata tea
I wish I were in Gujarat
the West is not for me
I wish I were in Gujarat
the West is not for me

Photo courtesy of:
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sunset_-_Kolkata_2011-11-25_7355.JPG.

