Night Train to Monongahela

by wechslerh66

for Townes Van Zandt

Headed west into the black
Ten track train on a two train track
Singing Auld Lang Syne & God Rest Ye Merry
This train was never bound for glory

Singing It Takes a Train & I Pity the Poor
When I reach Monongahela won’t ride no more

Headed south for the orange blossom
Went to bed with the coon, woke up with the possum
Woke up at noon, went to bed at eleven
This train was never bound for heaven

Woke up thinking I’m wretched but now I’m sure
When I reach Monongahela won’t ride no more

Headed east to Calcutta, jack
Ten track train on a two train track
Drinking muscat wine & potato curry
This train was never bound for glory

Went to ten cent town with a two cent whore
When I reach Monongahela won’t ride no more

Take me back to your Delta blues
Take me back to your boogie shoes
Take me back to your dance hall days
Take me back to your Old World ways
Take me back to your hippy shake
Take me back to your Madeleine cake
Take me back to your murder ballad
Take me back to your prophet Muhammad
Take me back to when Ella was elegant
Take me back to when Kansas City was relevant
Take me back to the way I once was

Headed north with a man named Morain
Two train track for a ten track train
I once was dead, now I’m only buried
This train was never bound for glory

I once was Jesus, now I’m only pure
When I reach Monongahela won’t ride no more

Photo courtesy of http://tenmilecreekcountry.blogspot.com/2009/01/pennsylvania-railroad-map-of-coal-mines.html.

