That Old Time Religion

by wechslerh66

Almost a year ago a homeless woman outside the Baptist church at 17th and Sansom, a woman I had seen there for weeks, asked me for change for something to eat.

I walked away, came back with a cranberry muffin and an orange juice and gave it to her.

She yelled at me because she wanted a Big Mac and fries.

Last week I walked by the Baptist church again for the first time in months; the homeless woman was gone, replaced by this sign:

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

“Go out quickly to the streets and lanes of the city, and bring in the poor and crippled and blind and lame…Go out to the highways and hedges and compel people to come in, that my house may be filled.”
–Luke 14:15-24

Or, on the other hand, go fuck yourself.

???????????????????????????????

