Sharon Tate

by wechslerh66

Dennis_Wilson_in_1966

I was drunk in December
I was driving the causeway
I was missing my car
I was driving the wrong way
My brothers in arms
were off in Barbados
When you’re hungry for karma
you settle for huevos

My radio was on
tuned to the dial
WELCOME TO THE RESURRECTION
on the Miracle Mile
“Do You Wanna Dance”
always sounds like a coffin
mercy mercy baby
I’m Johnny Rotten

I’m a drummer, a surfer
a Beach Boy, an addict
I’m homeless, I’m hopeless
I’m nowhere, nomadic

& someday I will be buried at sea
they’ll say, he was a man unlike you or me
shooby dooby doo
shooby dooby doo

now I hear the wolf howl
& he rhymes with cocaine
take me back
to where I have no name
Hawthorne, Monterey, Cielo Drive
no one here gets out alive
I know there’s a monster
tragic Hollywood fate
but I’m not afraid
of Sharon Tate
shooby dooby doo
shooby dooby doo

no I’m not afraid
of Sharon Tate
shooby dooby doo
shooby dooby doo

Photo courtesy of http://www.pinkrobert.net/BeachBoys.html.

