Books I read in 2015

by wechslerh66

Fluffya 014

Because no one asked.
Organized by category, because I own a used bookstore (only with more than the usual 1-2 cats, and the hours are irregular, and I buy but never sell).

LABOR
Raising Expectations (and Raising Hell): My Decade Fighting For the Labor Movement, Jane McAlevey
An Injury To All: The Decline of American Unionism, Kim Moody
We Shall Be All: A History of the IWW, Melvyn Dubofsky
Labor Law for the Rank and Filer, Staughton Lynd & Daniel Gross
In Dubious Battle, John Steinbeck
Overview: Big Unions and the law de-radicalize the labor movement and defeat workers’ interests, management and their plutocratic supporters are worse, and the only answer is “never to submit or yield” (Milton, by way of Steinbeck).

SOMEWHERE ELSE
In Spite of the Gods, Edward Luce
The Village of Waiting, George Packer
Pity the Nation, Robert Fisk
India, Togo, and Lebanon.  I only read about 20% of Lebanon, which is still a few hundred pages; it’s enormous (the book anyway).

POLITICS (for lack of a better category)
Waiting to Land: A (Mostly) Political Memoir, 1985-2008, Martin Duberman
Homage To Catalonia, George Orwell
Iraq: The Borrowed Kettle, Slavoj Žižek
In A Time of Torment, I.F. Stone
Accompanying: Pathways to Social Change, Staughton Lynd
Wobblies & Zapatistas: Conversations on Anarchism, Marxism & Radical History, Staughton Lynd & Andrej Grubačić
Rules for Radicals, Saul Alinsky
Somehow I never read Homage to Catalonia during the preceding 42 years.  I only read the 66 actual pages of Iraq, not the 113 page appendices (it’s Žižek).  With all due respect to the fine work of AK Press and PM Press, two of the Lynd books I read in 2015 (Wobblies and Labor Law) were free PDF downloads (I won’t name the website).  I am not now nor have I ever been an Alinskyite (I agree with this) but he’s still essential reading for both the left (full disclosure #1: Tom Sugrue was my former History of the 60s professor) and the right.  Duberman’s “memoir” (part 3, taken from notebooks and diaries) is non-essential reading compared to his Cures (memoir part 1), Paul Robeson, and Black Mountain.

RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Muhammad: A Prophet For Our Times, Karen Armstrong
Because now I know more about Islam than Ben Carson.

NOVELS
Leaving the Atocha Station, Ben Lerner
Ordinary Mayhem, Victoria Brownworth
Woman on the Edge of Time, Marge Piercy
In Dubious Battle, John Steinbeck
I rarely read novels anymore and even more rarely novels from the past 40 years (unless written by Steve Erickson).  Some of these are more and other than novels; Lerner is a poet writing a novelized memoir about a poet; Brownworth’s novel about the horrors of the real world includes the real horrific experiences of others she met as a reporter (full disclosure #2: she’s also my former writing instructor).  I wasn’t aware of this at the time, but In Dubious Battle is also on Obama’s list.

NOVELLA
The Legend of the Holy Drinker, Joseph Roth
My dead half-brother was a fan (so I’m told).  It’s a tragedy of sorts, although its ending is less unhappy in many ways than that of its author.

Anyone else have any recommendations (or warnings)?

p.s. Films I’ve seen in 2015: Trumbo, a week ago.  (Good review and spoiler alert here.)  I don’t get out much.

